Melrose Again: Bloggin' about Melrose Place

The CW Network has canceled Melrose Place.

with 2 comments

Farewell to the gang at Melrose Place.

I really didn’t want to believe the rumors since they’ve been dogging us fans for so long, but I’m sad to say that Melrose Place has been canceled according to a media columnist at The New York Times. The CW is staging the official presentation of its fall lineup tomorrow, but some media outlets have already received the schedule. I was holding out hope for renewal, but if the news is reported in the Times, it’s safe to say it’s true. The CW is pretty niche-targeted but apparently the ratings never reached the mass numbers needed to justify the expense of producing the show. To the producers’ credit, the show never looked cheap and, for viewers with an appetite for over-the-top melodrama, the revamp delivered. Some moves were off-the-mark from the start, like casting Ashlee Simpson-Wentz, and I still believe they would have attracted more eyeballs had they done some stunt casting with high-profile names from the worlds of reality shows and music. I could have pictured Lady Gaga or Kim Kardashian having fun with Katie Cassidy’s uberpublicist Ella Simms, even in cameo appearances. Bringing Heather Locklear back was a smart move, but her storyline was a snooze. If nothing else, the show will be credited for showcasing the talents of the charismatic Katie Cassidy. Her unexpectedly nuanced portrayal of a potentially one-note character like Ella revealed that there’s much more to her than a bright smile and mile-long legs. I’m sure we can expect to see more of her in the near future. On a personal note, I want to thank everyone who checked in with the Melrose Again blog to keep up with my episode recaps and musings about the Melrosers. It has been a blast and I hope you enjoyed it as much I have.  Not that I’m giving up blogging, mind you. I recently revived my True Blood blog www.BitingRemarks.wordpress.com.  Check it out if you’re a fan of Sookie & Co.  Have a great summer!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can’t believe they cancelled another great show. First Girlfriends then the Game now melrose place. I think CW network need to be cancelled. Because whoever is making these decision obviously don’t know whAt
    they’re doing. Now all I can wAtch on CW is 90210 n America next top model. I hope another. Network pick up melrose place. BET picked up The Game and their new episodes will be on this August. Come on CW u didn’t even give melrose place a chance.

    Allie

    June 29, 2010 at 7:09 am

  2. I hear you, Allie. I really loved the show, too. As a small consolation, Entertainment Weekly announced that Katie Cassidy (Ella) has been cast in four episodes of the new season of Gossip Girl, so clearly The CW recognizes that Katie is TV gold. I wouldn’t be surprised if her stay there is extended.

    tvteaser

    June 30, 2010 at 8:15 am


Leave a Reply

